Submitted Media Release

The County of Brant celebrated the Fire Marshal’s Long Service Awards on Friday November 22, 2019.

County of Brant Fire - Long Service Award (Special Award)

County of Brant Fire – Long Service Award (Special Award) – Submitted Photo

“We are pleased to recognize so many Firefighters for their ongoing dedication to our community,” said Geoff Hayman, Fire Chief for the County of Brant. “The Long Service Award is an expression of our appreciation for their dedication and hard work.”

The following people were celebrated:

Names Position Years of Service Location
Kevin Hall Deputy District Chief 25 years Burford
Phil McLeod Firefighter 25 years Paris
Harry Timmerman Firefighter 25 years St. George
Bruce Barrett Captain 25 years Paris
Chuck Greenwood Captain 25 years Burford
Len Proulx Captain 25 years Scotland
Jim Roswell Firefighter 25 years Paris
Mark Szentimrey Deputy District Chief 25 years St. George
John Fazekas Deputy District Chief 30 years Paris
Jay Little Captain 30 years St. George
Jim Donn Deputy District Chief 30 years Scotland
Brian Poss Firefighter 30 years Scotland
Tom Waldschmidt Fire Prevention Officer 30 years Fire Administration
Barry McBlain District Chief 35 years Onondaga
Tom Croome Firefighter 35 years Paris
Geoff Hayman Fire Chief 35 years Fire Administration
James McBay Firefighter 40 years Onondaga
Michael Smith District Chief 40 years Cainsville
Dewey Robinson Deputy District Chief 45 years Paris
Norm Booth Captain 45 years Mt. Pleasant


The County of Brant has eight Fire Stations and approximately 180 Firefighters.  Firefighters attend ongoing training and meetings throughout the year to ensure they are prepared to safely and efficiently respond to emergency situations.

Firefighter recruitment sessions are held each year in early January.  If you are interested to learn more, please visit or contact the Fire Administration team at 519.442.4500.